The Instant Makeover

1 October 2015

Day 1

For the last year I have set myself up as the Breast Cancer Miss Know it All! Not because I have a huge ego – but rather because I am busy Producing a documentary about the Roller Coaster journey of having survived the diagnosis. I have always had a flair for dramatics and been rather anal, but Breast Cancer has turned me into one crazy asshole! Living with me is a daily challenge and My Dear Husband has resorted to humour, sarcasm and wit to manage my daily (if not hourly) mood swings! My kids chuckle along as they know the limits to my insanity is endless and prefer to douse me with practical jokes to get me even more riled up!

Every now and then when the bomb drops – Dear Child 1 and Dear Child 2 will chant – MOMMY is CRAZY! MOMMY is CRAZY! (amidst giggling and chuckling…. Like Evil Minions)

I am super fortunate that my family have learnt rather artistic coping mechanisms to provide humour and fun to a sometimes depressing truth – that Cancer changes you…like a caterpillar metamorphosis into a butterfly Right? Wrong!!! The metamorphosis was not gentle, loving or kind… I was not safely tucked up in a cocoon.

It was Nasty….and Messy and sometimes Brutal…. and it took hostages!
Imagine, one day I was This Person and the next day I was That Other Person!

Just like that!
Tadaaaaa!
Instant Makeover!

Author: Sumayya

I have Super Powers! Don't tell everyone ssshhhhhtttt Writer, Producer, Filmmaker, Photographer

Leave a Reply

