Feel Your Boobs

9 October 2015

Day 9

So how does Chemo feel?

I best describe chemo as feeling High or Trippy – Honestly!
A raised body temperature, a faster heart beat, a bit disorientated and completely intoxicated – a rather psychedelic experience! I had a very adventurous and recreational young adult life okay? Don’t judge me! (Thank Goodness – because I would not have reacted well to the sensation otherwise!)

The side effects came later…

I had some of them but not all at the same time. The beauty of this chemo (FEC) is that it works over a period of 21 days to be exact, so therefore some days were better than others. After my first round of chemo I basically just lived day to day, wondering when the first side effects were going to hit me. They usually started by Day 7 post treatment.

I had sore everything (mouth, eyes, head, gums, stomach etc…) with the first round – but it was mild and completely manageable! I drank loads of water infused with lemons and ate chocolate cake!
I was however highly energetic and could cook and clean and move furniture around all day! I was not bedridden and more than capable of running my household with two small kids in tow and a petrified Husband!

And Oh, how can I forget, by Day 14 I Lost 90% of my Hair – the rest had to be shaved off and this hurts bleh…

AND…
I could NO LONGER Feel my Tumours – I had 5 IN MY LEFT BREAST!!!

And THAT is the miracle of Chemotherapy!!!

PS: Ladies PLEASE feel your boobs! Every month before and after your period! It may Save Your Life!

Author: Sumayya

I have Super Powers! Don't tell everyone ssshhhhhtttt Writer, Producer, Filmmaker, Photographer

Leave a Reply

