Beacon of Health

When you run you become so in tune with your body. You listen and feel yourself. This element of running is of utmost importance to me. Personally I see running as my vehicle to keep track of my health. I think my body will definitely let me know if there is a cancer recurrence or if there are any complications involving the heart/lungs/bones/liver.

I am only running consistently for the past year. I was unable to run through chemotherapy and post mastectomy. I knew that I needed to exercise so I used to rebound and when I was feeling stronger I tried some personal trainers and gym, but never really felt satisfied with the outcome. Last year I decided ‘Right, enough of feeling like shit’ and went for my first slow run after struggling with health issues since my first pregnancy – like 9 years ago – SIESS!!!

Now don’t get me wrong, the keyword being consistent – I was active but NOT CONSISTENT!

During both my pregnancies I did Preggie Yoga and enjoyed walking. After each pregnancy I tried to get back into running but was never really fully committed to the experience so I tried new things like Bikram Yoga and Ashtanga Yoga. I did Bootcamp workouts and really fell inlove with kettle bells and functional training post last pregnancy. I also spent copious amounts of time on the treadmill at gym – which is the biggest rip off you might as well be a hamster… Here’s the truth – NOTHING beats ROAD RUNNING!

Author: Sumayya

I have Super Powers! Don't tell everyone ssshhhhhtttt Writer, Producer, Filmmaker, Photographer

Leave a Reply

